Maya Banks: Taking It All

This is book 3 of the Surrender Trilogy.

Lately I have been reading a lot of these BDSM novels. One scenario that I hamaya banks taking it alld yet to discover was how that dynamic would work in an already established, committed relationship.

Chessy and Tate have been married for five years. Tate is the dominant and Chessy is the submissive. Lately, Chessy is not feeling the love and security that she usually gets from Tate and her friend have noticed the strain that it has on her. Tate is distracted and obsessed with work and has stopped taking care of Chessy emotionally and physically, though he is there for her financially. Chessy does not care about being financially secure; she would rather have her attentive, loving husband back.

You really need to read the first two books in the series in order to understand all the dynamics of this story (which I promise to post). Maya goes right for the heart from the very start. She does a perfect job of letting us into the hearts and minds of Chessy and Tate from the very start. My heart was even crying when they cried – she really made me care. I had to keep reminding myself that this was fiction and not real, but that just kind of takes the fun out of it.

After a ‘come to Jesus’ moment, Tate begins to understand that his marriage to Chessy is in danger and that it is up to him to do everything in his power to show her that he still loves her. It all comes to a (pretty predictable) climax when in the middle of a scene, Tate’s lack of attention leads to Chessy’s life being endangered.

As Chessy contemplates a permanent split from Tate, Tate does his best to hang on to his wife and correct the errors of his ways.

Taking It All is my favorite of the Surrender Trilogy. It is a short and quick read that goes by even faster because you will not want to put the book down.

Head over here for an excerpt!

2 comments

  1. romance4thebeach · September 15, 2014

    Hmm, that’s a really interesting concept. Most of the bdsm novels out there deal with a new romance rather than an established one. I might have to give this series a try. I just reviewed Rush by Maya Banks on my blog, and I like her writing.

    • Love, Harriet · September 15, 2014

      Thanks for coming by and giving my blog a look! I was excited to read this book because it was such a new idea for me. I agree with your assessment about the similarities between Fifty Shades of Grey and Rush, but at least Rush is a lot better written. I recommend that you read Maya Banks’ Surrender and Breathless Trilogies as well as the Sweet Series as some of the characters cross over and are talked about/appear in the other series’.

Leave a Reply

